Yoga is one of the six orthodox systems of Indian philosophy. It was collated, coordinated and systematized by Patanjali in his classical work, the Yoga Sutras, sometime between 200 B.C. and 200 A.D. Patanjali enumerated the means for the quest of the soul as the eight limbs or stages of Yoga. The 8 in Hot 8 Yoga represents Patanjali’s 8 yoga sutras: A precise set of doctrines and principles that create the foundation for living a Yogic life.

The Yamas and Niyamas are moral disciplines to bring an individual into balance with your higher Self. Practicing asanas, or postures at Hot 8 Yoga keep the body healthy and strong and in harmony with nature. The next two stages, Pranayama and Pratyahara, teach the yogi to regulate the breath and thereby control the mind. This helps to free the senses from the objects of desire. Finally Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi take the yogi into the innermost recesses of the soul. The last three stages keep the yogi in harmony with the Self.

1. Yama - Five moral restraints- External relationship with the world
Ahimsa (non-violence)
Satya (truthfulness)
Asteya (non-stealing)
Bramacharya (moderation)
Aparigraha (non-hoarding)
2. Niyama - Five observances - Internal relationship with Self
Saucha (cleanliness)
Santosha (contentment)
Tapas (discipline)
Svadhyaya (self-study)
Ishvara Pranidhana (devotion)
3. Asana-physical postures
4. Pranayama-Breath control/mindful breathing
5. Pratyahara-Sense withdrawal/turning inward
6. Dharana-Concentration
7. Dhyana-Meditation
8. Samadhi-Union with self with object of meditation